Director Kazuo Ikehiro (b. 1929)

The Gambler's Code Zatoichi and the Chest of Gold The Trail of Blood

Brothers of the Flower (1961)
The Gambler's Code (1961)
In a Ring of Mountains (1962)
Zatoichi and the Chest of Gold (1964)
Zatoichi's Flashing Sword (1964)
Nemuri Kyoshiro 4: Sword of Seduction (1964)
Zatoichi's Pilgrimage (1966)
Nemuri Kyoshiro 9: A Trail of Traps (1967)
Lone Wolf Isazo (1968)
Nemuri Kyoshiro 12: Castle Menagerie (1969)
Broken Sword (1969)
The Trail of Blood (1972)
The Fearless Avenger (1972)
Slaughter in the Snow (1973)

Kazuo Ikehiro Kazuo Ikehiro got his start as an assistant working for directors like Kenji Mizoguchi and Kon Ichikawa. He always had a strong preference for working in jidai-geki and says that he only did a number of modern-day yakuza films because of studio demands. Ikehiro developed a gritty, unconventional style that made him an excellent match for Zatoichi and the antihero screen personae of Raizo Ichikawa.

Possibly his greatest achievement came with Raizo, when he played an instrumental part in the Nemuri Kyoshiro series. The first three movies had been fairly straightforward chambara adventures, but with 1964's Sword of Seduction, Ikehiro steered the series into the surreal and stylistically outrageous extremes that made the Son of the Black Mass so legendary.

The Filmmakers

The Jidai-Geki Knights